Swami Satyananda Quotes = Copyright Violation?

Today I received a request from the Satyananda organization to remove all quotes of Swami Satyananda from my blog. They said it is a copyright violation and I may not use them. I have removed them.

Sorry fellow yogis for having to take away these inspiring quotes from an enlightened soul.

Meanwhile, I can only guess that the Satyananda organization does not understand the teachings themselves. Our lineage, from Swami Sivananda who was Swami Satyananda’s guru, exists in part because of Swami Sivananda’s firm belief that the teachings should be spread to the world. For everyone. And in spite of his poverty he gave the teachings away for free.

Apparently the Satyananda organization would like to keep Swami Satyananda’s inspiring words to themselves. I am certain Swami Satyananda would have felt the teachings should be shared. Much as the Satyananda organization tries they cannot keep silent the Truth. What will they do? Sue everyone who tries to spread the teachings if they don’t comply with their maya? Good luck to them.

Many oms.

10 thoughts on “Swami Satyananda Quotes = Copyright Violation?

  1. Sri Swami Satyananda said in Rishikesh:
    “I give you this teaching for nothing, and you must pass it on for nothing…”
    Maybe the Organization has become a money-machine like so many others?
    Or…they did not at all understand the message…poor souls…!!!
    Hare Om
    Om Mani Padme Hum…
    Swami Prakash Shanti Baba, Denmark

  2. Can you tell me exactly a document or paper where is recorded what say Swami Satyananda… I give you this teaching for nothing, and you must pass it for nothing…I just realised something of this behavior a little bit elitist on the last visit of Swami Satsangi to SouthAmerica….thanks for your feedback.

    1. I am sorry, it is more than 30 years ago now, and I don´t remember, but these words have always been in my mind.
      The words were often quoted by my own master, Swami Prakash Bharti i Rishikesh, who also passed his teaching on for nothing….and so do I too..!
      This is how we can distinguish between busyness and “the real thing”…

      My advise to you, if you will allow me?
      Leave it be…..have the concern on your own svadharma…not theirs, or you wil just become angry and bewildered of mind…and again fall down into the “material pool”, as you know?

      Yours sincerely,
      Swami Prakash Shanti
      Denmark

    2. Dear Natalie OMe

      My master, Swami Prakash Bharti always repeted:

      “Do not get attached to foolishness, or you will become a fool yourself…!”
      “Do not involve in conflict, or you will be the conflict yourself..!”

      And then he laughed…always…

      “It is better to perform one´s own svadharma, even imperfectly, than to take over another´s dharma and do it perfectly”..Bhagavad Gita…..as you know…

      Again…thanks for listening,

      Yours sincerely,

      Swami Prakash Shanti Baba
      Denmark
      OM MANI PADME HUM

  3. Given the scale of life in the cosmos, one human life is no more than a tiny blip. Each one of us is a just visitor to this planet, a guest, who will only stay for a limited time. What greater folly could there be than to spend this short time alone, unhappy or in conflict with our companions? Far better, surely, to use our short time here in living a meaningful life, enriched by our sense of connection with others and being of service to them.

    Dalai Lama

  4. I am a sannyasin in the Satyananda Yoga tradition and I know the story behind not using his quotes on the internet. Apparently what’s been happening is that many people have posted randomly and changed his words, or attributed words to his name that he never said. My understanding is that you can post his quotes as long as they’re referenced. We’re definitely not trying to be elitist or selfish about his teachings, just trying to keep the teachings pure.
    Swami Chintanshuddhi

    1. With all due respect Swamiji that is exactly what did not happen to me. I personally love Swami Satyananda’s books and have gained immensely from reading them. I quoted him word for word, and listed the sources and page numbers, and was told that in no uncertain terms was I allowed ever to use a quote from him under any circumstances. I replied that I feel this is wrong because these teachings are not a secret and he would never have wanted this, and that is not what Swami Sivananda taught either, and he gave away his books for free in the spirit of spreading the yoga teachings. The Bihar school of yoga is very selfish with Swami Satyananda’s teachings. Search on his name, you can find almost not a single quote from him on the internet, and there are tons and tons of quotes by other spiritual masters. It really is a shame, Swami Satyananda’s words are divine.

  5. I agree that cutting off people’s enthusiasm like that is not the best way to become a popular school. Still, Bihar’s School of Yoga literature is the best, most classical, most informative, most authentic literature available. It is also the one less known to the world, and most abused! I have encountered, many teachers using it to promote their own lineage. And others trying to profit by techniques invented by him, without giving any credit to its system and yoga. That is why I understand that they wish to control where his quotes are published. That does not mean that I agree with it.

    For your information though, not only quotes, but a huge number of Swami Satyananda’s lectures are being published for free by his ashram in Rikhiapeeth, along with rare photographs. If you want people to benefit from them, you can refer them to the official RIkhiapeeth blog http://www.rikhiapeeth.net/ .

    1. I still don’t agree with it. There are other schools with classical, authentic, literature and the Bihar school is the only one that I’m aware of that actively tries to shut down dissemination of knowledge. If other people are passing off techniques that Swami Satyanada invented, (which I am not convinced he did invent them and is beside the point), then it becomes their own negative karma, and it is not the responsibility of the Bihar school to shut it all down everywhere. My blog was sincere, I quoted him on everything with sources, and so I should have passed that test. I doubt that Swami Satyananda would think he should get credit for his system and yoga. Unbelievable because if you really think that then you are missing the point as well. But thanks for the link anyway.

  6. Hari Om Sita

    On http://www.yogamag.net you find more that 4000 articles, essays, speeches etc. all from Swami Sivananda, Swami Satyananda, Swami Niranjanananda and other acharyas and teachers of the Bihar Yoga Tradition.

    This ‘public’ archive of the Bihar Schoole of Yoga is open to everyone for free. If you come across any other institute which presents such a wealth of knowledge and wisdom in such an easy accessible way, then please let me know…

    Kind regards
    Om Tat Sat
    Anandaratna

Leave a Reply

