Ajna Chakra

Ajna Chakra – ‘the command or monitoring center’

The ajna chakra is the chakra of the mind. It is located at the very top of the spinal cord at the same height as the space between the eyebrows. Ajna chakra is also called the trikuti, or third eye.

Om is the bija mantra, representing the seat of the mind. The white circle represents shoonya, or the void. There are two white or silvery petals with the letters ham and ksham. The inverted red triangle is the symbol for shakti, or creativity and activity.  The black siva lingam represents the astral body. The presiding deity is Paramasiva, the supreme Siva.

ajna chakra

In the ajna chakra the three main psychic channels, or nadis, converge and flow up to the sahasrara chakra at the top of the head. These three nadis are the sushumna, the ida, and the pingala. By concentrating the mind at the ajna chakra, transformation of the individual consciousness occurs and duality is transcended.

“He who meditates successfully on this center destroys the karma of all past lives, and becomes a liberated soul. Intuitional knowledge is obtained through this chakra, the seat of primordial power and soul. It is here that yogis consciously put their prana at the time of death. All yogis, particularly jnanis, concentrate on this center and OM.” ~ Swami Vishnu-devananda, Meditation and Mantras

In the ajna chakra is the third psychic knot, called the Rudra granthi, or Siva granthi. This knot symbolizes attachment to the siddhis, or psychic powers, which must be renounced before full kundalini awakening can occur and the shakti can continue on towards the sahasrara chakra.

The ajna chakra is associated with mind. The jnana-indriya or organ of knowledge and the karma-indriya or organ of activity, is the mind. Along with the vishuddha chakra it is the seat of the vijnanamaya kosha.


3 thoughts on “Ajna Chakra

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s