Muladhara Chakra

Muladhara Chakra – ‘root chakra’

The muladhara chakra is located at the base of the spine in the perineal space for men, at the back and top of the cervix for women. Within this chakra, the dormant kundalini shakti is represented by the serpent which is coiled 3 1/2 times around the siva lingam in its center. The yellow square represents the earth element. Its bija mantra is lam. The red triangle represents shakti, or creative energy. There are four crimson lotus petals which contain the bija mantras vam, sham, sham and sam. Brahma is the presiding deity.

muladhara chakra

From the muladhara the three main psychic channels, or nadis, originate and go up the spinal cord. These are the sushumna in the center, the ida on the left, and the pingala on the right.

The hatha yoga practices are used to purify and balance the prana between ida and pingala, so that when kundalini awakens she will rise up the sushumna nadi to the sahasrara chakra.

Within the muladhara chakra is also located the Brahma granthi, or knot of Brahma. This is one of three psychic knots within the sushumna which must be opened, or pierced, in order for the kundalini to continue it’s ascent to sahasrara.  When people awaken to the idea of divine consciousness, the brahma granthi begins to loosen and the individual consciousness becomes aware of a greater purpose than instinctual animal life.

“Meditation on the muladhara confers knowledge of the kundalini, as well as the means of awakening it. It bestows breath and mind control, and knowledge of the past, present, and future.” ~ Swami Vishnu-devananda, Meditation and Mantras

Muladhara chakra is associated with the sense of smell. The jnana-indriya or organ  of knowledge is the nose. The karma-indriya or organ of activity is the anus. It is also the seat of the annamaya kosha, or food body.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s