60’s Music, Still Current

About a week ago I watched part of a TV show on our local PBS channel. They were doing a fundraiser and were playing video clips of song artists from 1965-1969.

This music I remember from a long time ago, my mom listening to it on the little radio in the kitchen. I listened to it by choice for a decade or two after that, but I haven’t really listened to any of it in a long time.

Point is, when I sat down to watch, the first song up was Barry McGuire with Eve of Destruction. What really blew me away was that the lyrics could have been written yesterday. Here it is:

Lyrics.

We have not grown as a country in a meaningful positive way in the last 40 years.

Next song up on the program was the perfect antidote song; the one and only Jackie Deshannon with What the World Needs Now Is Love:

Dated videos. Good music.

Leave a Reply

